Stranded…what now?

Imagine that you are shipwrecked on an island far away from civilization.
What would be 6 things you would grab before the ship went down to survive?
Explain your answers with detail and why you made those choices.

23 Comments on Stranded…what now?

  1. vanessa
    October 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm (14 years ago)

    1.food
    2.water
    3.change of clothes/extra
    4.favourite thing/toy
    5.money
    6.cell phone

    1.the reason why i chose food is because there is going to be no food on the island or where you are strand 2.I chose water because the water around you is really dirty and you could get sick.
    3.change of clothes becuase the clothes you stay in will get dirty and they might get to small on you.
    4.favourite thing because you are stranded on a island and if it is really speacial you will never see it again.
    5.money so when you get rescued you don’t lose any money and you are not poor.
    6.cell phone because you can call some one and you can get rescued and you use some of the money for long distance.

    Vanessa

  2. Alia Hassan
    October 25, 2010 at 4:23 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was shipwrecked on an an island and I had to choose only six things to survive with bisides people it would be hard to do but, their are sertant valubale things you need to survive with and these are the things you should take with u during a fire, a sunomi, a horrible storm, or whatever bad situaton. I would need things to bring me love and happiness and some people out there don’t have that so….. don’t ever let this go! I would need to have the people I love, the something that would have the most meaning to me like it has been passed on from my mom her mom and her moms mom or dad or whatever would need to be with me , pictures to always know who i am and where I come from and who i love, a book that has a good meaning a long book that is mportant not meaningless that i can read over and over so ican memorize the words, and of course food and water, something to keep record of my thoughts too. This is not stupid stuff, it’s not like im going on a car trip and im going to bring a book, my ipod, my Ds and a phone…. who really cares and neeeds that stuff ?! Sentelmental value and meaning are two big words to think about.

  3. Tyler
    October 25, 2010 at 4:24 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was on a deserted island I would bring some food and some water so I wouldn’t die of hunger or thirst. I would also bring an umbrella to protect me from any bad weather like rain, snow or hail with me. I would also bring matches in case it gets dark and I have to see something like a signal for help or something like that. Another thing I would bring is a sleeping bag because I might have to spend more than a few days there. The last thing I would bring is bug spray because there might be some poisonous insects or some dangerous bugs crawling around the island. That is what I would bring if I was trapped on a deserted island with no civilization anywhere close.

  4. mrwoods
    October 25, 2010 at 4:31 pm (14 years ago)

    I agree…well supported statements Tyler

  5. katherine
    October 25, 2010 at 6:41 pm (14 years ago)

    Six things I would bring are food, water, a lighter, clothes, a sleeping bag and some sort of shelter. I would use the food and water for when I get hungry, I would use the lighter for light and to make a fire to keep warm. I would use the clothes to keep clean and warm. I would use the sleeping bag for when I go to sleep and I would use the shelter for protection against harsh wether! That is what I would bring.

  6. Ryan
    October 25, 2010 at 6:44 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was stranded on an island I would bring ….Reason
    1 food, Reason 2 water, Reason 3 a change of clothes, Reason 4 money, Reason an entertament devise/iPod, Reason 5 a book and reason 6 is a sleeping bag. My first reason was food, so I don’t die of hunger. My second reason was water, so I don’t die of thirst. My third reason was a change of clothes, so I can stay worm in the night. My fourth reason was money, so if there was a pay phone on the island I could call for rescue. My 5 reason is a book to keep me of not getting bored and to get interested in something. My last reason (6) is a sleeping bag because you would have something soft lying down on.

  7. fanclub
    October 25, 2010 at 7:32 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was stranded on a island from a shipwrech the 6 things I would bring are;
    1-gum
    2-water
    3-flashlight
    4-sleeping bag
    5-cellphone
    6-sparker

    I would bring gum because food is too heavy to carry around and chewing on a gum will keep me from starving.
    Water, yes water because you can live longer with just water and no food that with food and no water.I know I’m in a island surround by water but I wouldn’t drink that water.
    A flaslight to help me at night.Now you’re thinking that batteries will die but I would take one that you can “monitor” by hand, I will never run out of light.
    A sleeping bag to sleep comfy and keep me warm.
    A cellphone, yes If I had service I could call someone and ask for help. It might be difficult to get service but you never know, that’s why Iw ould take one with me.
    Last but not least a sparker. I’m alone in a desert island who knows where am I? Planes flight all the time, maybe another ship in the ocean, even if they’re far away they could see the sparker when I light it up. They don’t know how many people but they’ll know that someone is there and needs some help.
    These are the 6 things I would take with me but hopefully that will never happen to me cause I’m sure I would be scared to be in a desert island by myself.

    By Raquel

  8. Brandon
    October 25, 2010 at 7:42 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was stranded/shipwrecked on an island I would take: 1. food because I need to eat and if I don’t then I’ll starve to death, 2. water I need so I don’t get dehydrated, 3. I would take a sleeping bag so I could sleep in something soft, 4. my blue teddy bear so I could have something to hug and love, 5. a lighter so I can make a fire and 6. a survival knife so if I ran out food I could go hunting. So that’s what I would bring if I was stranded/shipwrecked on an island.

  9. Sofia
    October 25, 2010 at 7:48 pm (14 years ago)

    The things i would first take would be:

    Food.
    Water.
    Rescue Boat/Rescue Material.
    Change of Clothes/Make-up.
    Shelter.
    And daily used things like a tooth brush or a cell phone.

    1.I would bring some food because what if you can not find any food cause with out food you would die of hunger.

    2.I would obviously bring water because food and WATER are the main things you would need and if you dont have water you would die of thirst.

    3.The most important thing is a rescue material like that gun that you would shoot in the air so the helicopters would of seen it and they would rescue you.
    the boat is one of the important things because what if you need to get inthe water for a reason.

    4.Personally I think you should always have a change of clothes and make-up cause you should still look good. Its always good to have a change of clothes cause you need to be clean cause you can get rashes and eiww.

    5.Having shelter means somewhere there that you can go sleep and have a place to relax. Plus what if it is raining outside and you have to sleep in the rain.

    6.You should always have a tooth brush and a cell because if personally if i dont get to brush my teeth then i cant eat or drink i dont know why its just me and with out a cell you cant even call the life savers are have connection with your friends but you might not even have a connection.

    well thats all

    Love your best student,

    Sofia.
    Sultani.

    .P.S. I wouldn’t even go on a ship because i’ve been scared of ships ever since the day i was going to fall off the side of the boat at MarineLand.

    anyways byebye,

    Sofia.
    Sultani.

  10. jr mohan
    October 25, 2010 at 8:16 pm (14 years ago)

    first i would bring food so that i will not starve and some water so i will not get dehydrated. third of all i will bring some bug spray so i would not get bitten by a venomous bug like a mosquito and get a disease.third of all i will bring matches to lite a fire. fifth of all i will light so i will See in the dark, not a match because they can easily blow out, last i will need a type of tent to sleep in and stay warm. these are the things i would bring to a island.

  11. maya
    October 25, 2010 at 8:19 pm (14 years ago)

    1. lighter
    2. collection of knives
    3. blanket
    4. pots
    5. ropes
    6. (spot) GPS

    Others
    (7. Emergency boat
    8. Food
    9. Captain’s boaters license
    10. 10% off Netflix membership)

    1. I would want a lighter to build a fire to keep warm, boil water to make drinkable water, cook food make smoke for smoke signals and to keep bugs away.
    2. A collection of knives to cut wood and rope to make a raft, skin animals, filet fish and animals, kill food (animals) and cut natural food from plants and build shelter out of wood and leaves.
    3. A blanket would be on my list to keep warm, and make the sail on the raft.
    4. Pots are made to boil water to catch steam to create drinkable water. Also I would cook the food in the pot.
    5. A rope would be useful for tying shelter together and making a raft.
    6. (spot) GPS for calling help and figuring out where I am.

    extra stuff:

    7. The emergency boat to escape the island since most big boats carry tiny boats.
    8. Canned food to eat
    9. I’d want the capitan’s boaters licince to see if it’s his because I would have a long chat with him.
    10. I would obviously grab my “10% off any netflix mebership” coupon. WOULDN’T YOU?

    I BETTER NOT GET STRANDED ON AN ISLAND.
    By:
    Maya

  12. zain khan
    October 25, 2010 at 8:21 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was shipwrecked the six things I would bring are [1] food and water in case I get hungry or get thirsty. [2] I would bring a lighter in case I need to cook something. [4] I would bring some clothes to keep me warm. [5] I would bring a sleeping bag to sleep in. [6] I would bring a tent to keep me safe from harsh weather.

  13. saad
    October 25, 2010 at 8:25 pm (14 years ago)

    I would take a knife , extra clothes ,torch,food, sleeping bags ,a lighter and water now i will tell you why i would use it: i would take a knife for safety , i would take extra clothes for when my other clothes get dirty, i would a lighter and torch for when it get ‘s dark there would still be light, i would take food and water so i dont die of hunger or thirst and i would take a sleeping bag so i dont have to sleep on the ground

  14. Becca
    October 25, 2010 at 8:39 pm (14 years ago)

    The 6 things that i would take is a life preserver so you do not drown. The second that i would bringis a life boat so i do not freeze in the water. The third thing that i would bring is a rope because you can hook it so that the boat does not sail away. So the forth thing that i would bring is some food so i do not starve on the sea. I would also bring a change of clothes so i’ll have extra clothes to keep me warm. the last thing that i would bring is a cell phone beause YOU CAN CALL FOR HELP!

  15. Jacob No
    October 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm (14 years ago)

    I would bring:
    1.Water so I don’t get dehydrated. If I don’t bring any
    water I would get dehydrated in days.

    2.Food so I would not starve to death. I would bring
    healthy food, some junk food and food that would not
    spoil or melt or need to be refrigerated. I guess no
    ice cream.

    3.A little shelter to keep me safe. If I bring some
    shelter you won’t have to get wet when it rains. I
    also would not get sunburnt.

    4.Extra pair of clothes. So I would have clothes if the
    ones I am wearing start to rip or stink.

    5.A special toy, or coin to keep me occupied. If I
    bring something that I had when I was little it would
    feel safer.

    6.And a lighter to make a fire. If I don’t bring a
    lighter I can’t grill the food I catch.

    S.O.S. tee hee Obviously, I watched Survivor before.
    🙂

  16. Matthew Coulson
    October 25, 2010 at 9:01 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was shipwrecked on an island the last things I would take off the ship before it sank are water, foods, clothes, matches, something for shelter and a sharp knife. The water and food will help me survive for a little while. I could use the knife to hunt for more food so that I can survive longer. Clothes will keep me comfortable. The shelter will keep me warm and dry. I can also use the matches to make a fire to cook my food and to keep me warm. Once the fire is burning I can make a larger signal fire to attract attention to the island at night. During the daytime I could put leaves and branches that will make lots of smoke to also help signal ships that are sailing by.

  17. Tushar Nair
    October 25, 2010 at 9:12 pm (14 years ago)

    These are the six things I would take with me for my safety, survival and escape.

    Life jacket- When I fall of the ship I need a life jacket to help me float.

    Sail and tarp- I can make a shelter for myself and I can make a flag to signal people on a different ship.

    Knife- I could use it to hunt and I could use it to cut wood.

    Matches- I can make a fire to cook meat and I can send smoke signals to signal people on a different ship.

    Compass- I could use it to figure out what direction I am going in.

    Box- I could use it to carry my stuff in because I can’t carry it all in my hands and I need a place to store things.

  18. T.J. Landry
    October 25, 2010 at 9:45 pm (14 years ago)

    I would bring food,water,change of clothes,matches,tools and lots of books.I picked food because I could eat and not die. I picked water because I need water to survive.I picked change of clothes because I would not get be dirty or smell weird. I picked matches so I could make a signal a helicopter or a boat could get me. I picked tools so I could make a raft or boat of some kind of wood on the island or rip off wood from on the boat. But if I my plan cash down I would get the fabric so I could use it as a wind current. I picked lots of books so I have some more to do.

  19. anuj
    October 25, 2010 at 10:14 pm (14 years ago)

    If i was stranded on a island i would want …

    .water and food so don’t die of thurst or starvation .

    .tent for shelter

    .cellphone so i have communacation

    .umbrella so i don’t get wet

    .pocket knife for protection

    .machtes so i can light a fire to warm myself and cook.

  20. Adi
    October 25, 2010 at 10:22 pm (14 years ago)

    If I had to choose 6 things to take before the ship crashes, I would take energy snacks, water, my scout’s survival kit, a tent with a built in sleeping bag, a cooking pot and a cell phone.

    I choose energy snacks because they last longer, take less space and give you more energy. I would bring water because I don`t want to die of thirst and the sea water is dirty. I would bring my survival kit because it has everything that you need to survive, a pocket knife, bandages, medicine, rope and a lighter. A tent is one of the things I would bring along because the tent gives you shelter and the sleeping bag gives you a soft support and blanket. Some people might think a cooking pot is a weird decision, but one can boil water and cook some food. I would take a cell phone because maybe it can catch a signal and get some emergency help.

    One can survive without food for 3 weeks and without water for 1week but no matter what you have, one cannot survive even one day, without will power and positive thinking.

  21. Ahkash
    October 25, 2010 at 10:32 pm (14 years ago)

    If I was far away from civalization then I would bring:

    1. lighter

    2. ipod/iphone

    3. pocket knife

    4. water

    5. cookies

    6. life jacket

    1. I need a lighter to light a campfire to keep me warm because I am not going to be shivering for 5 days or more

    2. ipod touch/iphone to entetain me cause I am not going to sit there waiting for help

    3. poket knife so I could cut wood and stuff to help me

    4. water because I don’t ant to thirst to death

    5. cookies so I don’t starve to death

    6.life jacket just in case I get blowen away by water

  22. imran alli
    October 26, 2010 at 6:09 pm (14 years ago)

    1.food 2.water 3.matches 4.cell phone 5.sleeping bag. First of all you will need food because you will get hungry. Water because you will get dehidrated and thierd Cell PHONE to call for help sleeping bag for if I have to stay for a long time

  23. Tanya
    October 28, 2010 at 9:27 am (14 years ago)

    The things I would bring to an island!

    If I was stranded on an island I would bring a ship!

    A wood ship because it can be shelter and I can go in the water.

    I would also bring a lighter because then I can make a fire to warm me up and to make some food.

    The third thing I would bring with me would be a fishing rod.

    I would bring that because I could catch some fish for dinner!

    I would also bring an umbrella because if it starts to precipitate!

    The sixth thing I would bring if I was stranded on an island would be clothes!

    I would bring clothes because if my clothes get wet I can change!

    That is what I would bring to island!

    By: Tanya Anand :):) 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply