Why is Music Important?

Music Monday was a program that was intended to create awareness of the need to include music in Canadian schools.

On this day, we would all like to hear why you like music and when and where do you listen to it most at home or at school. Are you a lover of all types of music, cultural music, music without words and do you engage with music by creating your own? See…if any of these were important to you, then there is value of music in school. D0 you enjoy music in school? Are there things you wish you could do in music class but are not able to? Is music present in other areas of your school day and not just in “music class”. Please tell us, we would love to hear about your musical experiences.
Why is Music in Schools Important?

Very Interesting Video

15 Comments on Why is Music Important?

  1. souvik
    May 10, 2013 at 4:36 pm (11 years ago)

    Yes, it’s definetly important because we are surrounded with music like the radio in cars, listening on iPods and iPhones and if you think about it it’s all around us! Music is also a good way to learn or describe like in songs and poems we describe the topic, the topic being Art, Science(I.S.S), Math(numbers) or physical activity(basketball). I have no experience with music whatsoever except for the time when I used to strech a rubber band on the legs of a table or chair and then make it vibrate with my fingers it gave a smooth tune(depending on the size of the rubber band) you should try that someday,it’s cool. So as I said before I definetly think music is important but some people think its not. Sadly, people have different perspectives! But as I said before I definitely think music is important. WHAT DO YOU THINK?

  2. kaileyfrost
    May 11, 2013 at 3:07 pm (11 years ago)

    Music is an important role in peoples life and in peoples history. Whether you like music or not it will still follow you everywhere you go whether you are in your car, out for dinner at a restaurant,just relaxing or even when watching a favourite movie of yours.My point is I don’t think 20 minutes every what?? 2 or 3 days is enough at our schools.

  3. viduni
    May 11, 2013 at 7:58 pm (11 years ago)

    In my perspective, music is an important part of our lives. Music is everywhere!!! Music is on the streets, and anywhere you can go. There might even be music in the center of the earth. I listen to music more at home than anywhere else. When I`m working I like to put on the radio in my room and listen to whatever is playing. My most favorite radio channel is 99.9 virgin radio. The song that I am listening to know is Heart Attack by Demi Lovato. I`m a lover of all types of music, cultural music, music without words or sometimes I engage with music by creating my own. In music we have to make up a song or poem either about space or music monday. My group is making a song about space.I really enjoy music in school because it really fun. Sometimes when it not that much fun our music teacher finds a way to make it fun. Something I wish we could do is lean how to play instruments besides the recorder. Then we could be ready for next year when we can join a band of some sort if we chose to do. I play piano so I wish that we could learn how to play songs on the piano. Now that it is near the end of the year and the Kindree Talent Show is coming up music is present at recess. Sometime if we are working really well our teacher Mr.Woods puts on music. Thank You Mr.Woods for doing that, you truly are the best teacher ever (besides Mrs.Thomas). For the Kindree Talent Show I was thinking to do a song in the Talent Show that my piano teacher taught me.

    Viduni

  4. kindreehafsa
    May 12, 2013 at 12:40 pm (11 years ago)

    i think music is important in schools because children learn how to play different type of instruments and they have fun they can know about notes,how the instrument is played,then they can go with more higher positions in music like roshan alwood he got 100 in piano in this way children like roshan alwood each an every child can be like roshan and they wil suceed in music. And that’s why i think that music is important in schools and everywhere!

  5. bavita
    May 12, 2013 at 3:21 pm (11 years ago)

    Music is the most important thing of our lives.We hear music everywhere not just at schools or homes. in every song there is a beat to make music.Music is important because in every single person is born with music.Music provides a lot of benefits to children especially when it comes to learning.Music is a way of life. Everything in our environment—the raindrops, the hushing wind, the flowing river—has its own sound that produces music to our ears. We encounter music in our everyday lives, and this music brings harmony and peace.There is nobody who does not hum to a familiar tune if played. Music is one of the very oldest forms of entertainment man know of.- bavita☺

  6. farahhabibi
    May 14, 2013 at 9:09 pm (11 years ago)

    In my opinion, music is very important in our daily lives. We here music everyday somewhere like in the school,the gym,music room,the radio,and much much more. It is a universal language around the world. Music is important because it can describe people, places, movies, or animals that words can’t. Without music the world would have a hard time understanding other things. It is important because it helps you express yourself in ways that you can’t do with normal talking. Music is important to me because it gives me something to look forward to everyday. It is important in my life because it gives me something to do. I think it is important to the world because it helps people feel better and can give them hope in certain circumstances. Music is the highlight of many people’s day! After a rough day, they like to listen to music to lift their spirits. Life without music would be boring… no background music for movies, and life would sound dull. Music is important!!!!!! _______________
    Farah.H

  7. tasmiah
    May 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm (11 years ago)

    In my opinion music is very important in my life.I can`t answer for anyone else but for me and i also think music is inspirational.My favourite music quote is “Without music life would be a mistake”.Music is a universal language. It inspires common human feelings and emotions.Music inspires and evokes emotion in a healthy way. It touches our emotional being and evokes moods and feelings that are sometimes difficult to express.IT inspires and evokes emotion in a healthy way.I like music because somehow it feels like it speaks to my heart.I listen to music everywhere it never stops following me.And thats what I really like about music.MUsic RULES

    TASMIAH
    🙂

  8. yashvi
    May 15, 2013 at 11:09 am (11 years ago)

    music is a way of saying or expressing things. Music is a every imporant thing in our life.In school we are lucky to have a music class. You just can`t learn things from math and other subjects. You may learn somthing from music.Music is everywhere like on the streets,houses and other places. I love to do my homework and listen to music. Music can change your life . Music is imporant!

  9. myahussain
    May 15, 2013 at 11:50 am (11 years ago)

    music is important because:
    Music is everywhere, it pervades our world. Everyone knows music has power and importance. But have you ever stopped to consider why? What it is about music that gives it so much power and importance?
    music can be sang in manny languages and its some one anyone and evryone can do. music is a way of language getting out a message of a letter. music spreads by some one singing some thing and then the people who hear it tell others then it becomes world wide like happy birthday,twinkle twinkle little star.

  10. Om
    May 15, 2013 at 7:55 pm (11 years ago)

    music is important in our life because in movies like the pink panther cartoons the theme song and when you watch it with no theme song then you would most likely think it is boring and you wouldn’t want to watch it. And music can be educational like the ABC song it helps you learn the abc’s. music is universal because of music Monday. there are different types of music like pop and rock so you have many types to chose from. in music there could be a message that someone is trying to send.music is every were like birds
    chirping and the wind blowing.

  11. sonia
    May 21, 2013 at 9:51 am (11 years ago)

    music is important to us because if we did’nt have music life would be so boreing. I think that music is very important because it is part of our culture. to me music is important because I listen to music alot more than others because it is important to me, I love music because there are diffrent types of music. So I think that music is very important to our culture

  12. Kyla
    May 21, 2013 at 10:19 am (11 years ago)

    Music is important because it is fun to listen to music when you are reading, watching movies or t.v shows its nice to here a little music in the background. Also when people sing it shows their emotions in their voice. Music makes some/all people happy when they here it. Thats why music is important.

  13. batman26618
    May 26, 2013 at 10:14 am (11 years ago)

    Music is important because it lets you express you feelings in a amazing way.Music is a piece of art.Music is every where you like in your car,in a video game,on t.v,in a hockey game and more places.So I am trying to say that is important.

    Neeraj

  14. kindreebrady
    May 26, 2013 at 6:46 pm (11 years ago)

    I think music is important because my family like music. My sister and I play the piano. My school does music Monday and other music activities. I have always paid attention to the music in the background of movies.

  15. anika
    May 26, 2013 at 9:03 pm (11 years ago)

    In my opinion music plays a very important role in my life. Music is everywhere you go – it is just wonderful and an amazing type of art. Music can even teach you life lessons – music can even tell you stories without using words. It is passionate and we can hear and feel it every where we go. Definitely, there is not one place you could not hear some type of music. You don´t need instruments to play music, it is just everything. It is rain drops falling,people walking on the floor, the wind blowing etc. I love every type of music – they are all fantastic. Music will always be important in my life but I hope it is also important in everybody else´s life too.

Leave a Reply