Going Forward…

Hey friends,
After our report cards have gone home, it is important to reflect on ourselves….where do we want to go? Things we want to do differently, ways we can change our efforts, and to appreciate where we have come from since September. Your report card is chance to look forward. So, here’s tonights question.
Do we learn as much from our successes as we do from our misses?
Provide: a: a personal connection b: an example from another book or movie that ties into this. c: why did I choose this clip before tomorrow….whats my message do you think…and do you agree or disagree with me. Please answer these not as question a,b or c but rather include your responses in your paragraph.

23 Comments on Going Forward…

  1. batman26618
    February 13, 2013 at 5:12 pm (11 years ago)

    When he tried to fix a gadget but he failed. He was so sad and down but the rest of the Robinsons family cheer him up instead. Telling him not to give up but to “Keep Moving Forward”.

  2. Om
    February 13, 2013 at 5:37 pm (11 years ago)

    this video reminds me of when on my report card a got a bad mark and my parents just said you have to try a bit harder in that subject. in branded Oswald and his friends kept trying to tell Mr.Roberts that they shouldn’t wear the uniforms because they were made from child labor and they didn’t stop trying and if they didn’t wear the uniforms they could get suspended from school for 3 days and they still didn’t wear the uniforms. the message of this video is that you won’t learn any thing if you get it right the first time but if it takes you a few times to get it right then you will learn that next time you do the same thing then you will do it right because it toke you a long time to do and it will stay in your head. I agree with Mr.Woods that if you don’t get it right the first time then you should keep trying.

  3. Amrita
    February 13, 2013 at 6:29 pm (11 years ago)

    The message of the video to me was that it is fine if you make a mistake, you will always learn from your mistakes. I also feel it is important to keep trying as to always improve, I think I have shown this since my last report card as my grades have improved. Another example is when I go gymnastics if I can’t do something I keep on trying and then I get it. A movie I watched that is related to this topic is called “Jump In” in the movie a boy and three girls wanted to be in a jump rope competition, they kept trying to get better but people said they were bad and at the end of the movie the boy and the girls won the competition, that showed that they tried hard and didnt care what others said. Tomorrow is Valentines Day which is about love, we can learn from our past mistakes and improve on our relationships -Amrita 🙂

  4. Aleem
    February 13, 2013 at 6:32 pm (11 years ago)

    No, I messed up more then I succeed but when I messed up I can look back and stop that mistake. thats my connection. I saw this from the movie Dispicale Me where the guy keeps trying to steal the moon and by trying and doing what he need to do and he did it. I think this clip was to show us to keep trying and you will succeed

  5. Kyla
    February 13, 2013 at 6:47 pm (11 years ago)

    The video is trying to show us to keep moving forward know matter what happens.Just believe in yourself forever. If you haven’t watched this video yet watch it and write about it here. I hope you will like it. I know that I did.

  6. kindreebrady
    February 13, 2013 at 8:13 pm (11 years ago)

    I think you chose this clip because the message is that you learn from your mistakes. My connection to this is that when I play the board game Risk, I often make mistakes but my strategy is getting better. And playing Risk is fun. I agree that making mistakes is a good thing especially when you keep learn from them.

  7. kindreehafsa
    February 13, 2013 at 8:19 pm (11 years ago)

    I m new in school and being a newcomer I m faceing lots of difficulties in studies.many things are there which I dont know how to do but I m contineously trying to get over on all my problems.we should workhard to get success untill we get it. I watched one movie named tangled in that movie the girl wish to get out of the tower but she cant but latter she work hard and atlast out from tower .in this video the messege is to keep moving forward and not to loose courage.

  8. jenniferfan
    February 13, 2013 at 9:05 pm (11 years ago)

    The message is that if you make a mistake, you have just got to keep on trying and try harder every time intill it works. Also it means that if you fil that doesn’t mean your bad it means that you just need more pratice. Pratice make perfect. Well… not exacly perfect, just try your very best!

  9. jenniferfan
    February 13, 2013 at 9:07 pm (11 years ago)

    The message is that if you make a mistake, you have just got to keep on trying and try harder every time intill it works. Also it means that if you fail that doesn’t mean your bad it means that you just need more pratice. Pratice make perfect. Well… not exacly perfect, just try your very best!

  10. myahussain
    February 14, 2013 at 6:21 pm (11 years ago)

    The message of this video is it is fine to make mistakes but always reflect to them. Use them to improve learn from them . we defenitly learn as much from our successes as we do from our misses. One conection this video remindes me of grade 2 i got c,and s is when i saw my report card i knew i needed to improve i pushed myself and studyed all i could. it was hard yes but it was worth it now my report cards are all excelent and evrything is between A+ to B+.

  11. trad
    February 14, 2013 at 7:39 pm (11 years ago)

    the message to this clip is that it dosnt matter what you do always try try try and you will succeed but if you always succeed it dosnt meen your perfect it just means that you try hard.Bassicly what there trying to say is that if you get a bad mark like a C dont worrie because its an A if you tried its like on my report card at the begining of the year i got all ss but when i got my report card this mounth i got all Es and Gs because i tryed so thats all there telling you is that if you try you will learn from your mistakes and that just you shouldn get down about it just TRY harder and you will be a superstar.

  12. kaileyfrost
    February 14, 2013 at 9:06 pm (11 years ago)

    One personal connection I have to this clip is when I was at dance and I couldn’t do a move and kept getting very upset with my self… but my dance teacher and my mom both told me that you have to first make mistakes before you can do something right. Another movie I think might relate to this is the movie mirror mirror. It the character also makes many mistakes before really succeeding.I think that you chose this clip because you cant just do something perfect as soon as you try it, you have to make mistakes and that is how you learn

  13. superstephen
    February 14, 2013 at 9:27 pm (11 years ago)

    I was satisfied with my report card because I think that I am doing good in class. Sure I need to improve in some stuff but I still think that I am doing great! A personel connection is that once I tried to make a sword ( I was very young) and I failed, but I diden’t stop. I tried to figure out what I did wrong. Then when I finshed it was a success! I agree that if people fail they can keep moving forward!

  14. yashviparmar
    February 14, 2013 at 9:31 pm (11 years ago)

    Well I learn mostly from my mistakes. When we make a mistake it does not benifet us so we do not want that to happen again.Once I was making gingerbread for the first time I added too much water so it tasted like water I didn’t want it to happen again.so I made gingerbread again and didn’t repeat the mistake.this reminds me of a Albert Einstein book I read he fails many times and made a lot of mistakes he has a equote which says a person who never made a mistake never tired anything new.everyone makes mistakes it is not bad to make a mistake if you tried .the message is keep trying and don’t worry if you make a mistake by making a mistake you will learn.i agree with mr woods by making a mistake we are not failing we are actually getting better at that.

  15. anannya123
    February 15, 2013 at 4:24 pm (11 years ago)

    I have gave up a lot but said to keep going. lets say in ICE AGE 4, Manny did not give up trying to find Peaches and Ellie did he? So try harder but don’t give up. I think Mr woods is right by making a mistake, you try harder and then succeed.

    by anannya

  16. souvik
    February 15, 2013 at 5:17 pm (11 years ago)

    This video reminds me of when I did not get 27/27 for my french test. My parents asked me if I had learned anything from these mistakes(just like in meet the Robinsons). Then in the next french test I had improved a lot, this shows that I learned from my mistakes. Making a mistake is learning because if you make a mistake you are learning how to not do the thing. By making a mistake you are actually learning how to get better at doing the thing. So the next time you make a mistake think of it as a learning experience not a bad experience.

  17. viduni
    February 16, 2013 at 11:54 am (11 years ago)

    A personal connection that I have to this clip is that when I first started dance class I wasn’t that good, but my teacher belived that I could could do it if I keep practicing to dance. Now I am much better than when I started a few years ago. This reminds me of the movie “Monsters Inc” because in the movie the two monsters try to find their closet but they don’t but, they keep trying and finally they find the door. I think Mr.Woods chose this clip to show us the day after we got our report cards is because he doesn’t want us to think that if our grades are bad and we think that we can never improve, we should keep trying to improve them. I agree with Mr.Woods that the best way to learn is by making lots mistakes and keep working on them.

  18. rachel
    February 16, 2013 at 6:32 pm (11 years ago)

    You learn from mistake more then when you are successful, but it dose not mean you can’t learn from being successful. I once leraned from a mistake in grade four, I made a kaleidoscopic for science and after looking through a million times I had soon seen that the mirrors did not reach out as far as they were to suppose to. I did not build another one, I just made sure I remembered that. The movie that ties into this would be MegaMind, MegaMind was always using different plans that seemed to get better, like started wit simple things like bike with a lazer and he used the lazer idea and made it better by using sun lazer that was biger and stronger, so he made it better. The message of the clip is that if you don’t make successes, then you should at what the problem was sand you will learn its was that that did it. I agree with the video, you should try your best and ”always move forward”.

  19. chrismyrox
    February 17, 2013 at 9:43 am (11 years ago)

    My connection to the video is when I got my report card this year I got a B. I thought to myself that I could have done a bit better. When we read Branded, the main character Ian went against the principal. The school board Ian and his friend Oswald and Julia protested. Even though they knew the consequences were a three day suspension from school they stood up for what was right. When it didn’t work they kept trying again. Your message is never give up even if it fails the first time. I agree with the message because it inspires people to create more when they make a mistake they can just restart it.

  20. bavita
    February 18, 2013 at 1:27 pm (11 years ago)

    The message of the video to me was that it is fine if you make a mistake, you will always learn from your mistakes.In the video the boy was try to make a machine I don’t know what machine but it didn’t work, and everyone said “you failed” in a happy voice because you learn from mistakes and sometimes you fail what you are working at and that is okay because once you keep on rebuilding something that you faild on you will get it right not perfect but right because nothing is perfect in life. Everybody said “keep moving forword” because keep moving forword means don’t give up if you wrong. When I was watching a movie with my sister in the movie they were making a show (cartoons)for two puppies and the person who owne’s the candy land city said we need it good for the puppies so they enjoy it and 5 girls are puting up a band for the show and they said to the city owner what about when we are performing the show lets put foam and the city owner said I can’t see anything and the girls keep on trying. The city owner said so much to do so much to do!Then they found the perfect thing bubbles! to put on while they are perfoming. They keept on trying and trying untill they find the perfeting thing. The movie was called “betsy bubblegum”. So just remember we learn by mistakes.

  21. Anika Azore
    February 18, 2013 at 10:32 pm (11 years ago)

    The message of the video to me was that it is okay if you make a mistake, you will always learn from your mistakes.I also feel that even though I didn’t get many of A’s in my report card, I will always improve and thats what I have been doing. I keep trying and trying and never give up.For example, when I am skating and I fall down, I dont cry, I get up and keep trying to be a better skater. My connection – I watched a movie called the [Mistle-Tones]. There was this girl that was looking for some singers so that she could show these other singing group of girls that she could sing.So she went to get some singers and she heard these people from her work place singing and they were amazing but they were so boring and awkward. Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.I know that one day, if I keep trying and improving my work, I will finally become a straight A student-Anika

  22. Sonia
    February 20, 2013 at 9:43 pm (11 years ago)

    What I think this message says,to me is that you should nener give or you will never be succes full. and that you should do your best and try hard, on my report card i was’nt to happy because they wer’nt great. but thedn i relized that if i try hard i will succes. in this video, Louis tryed to create an invention, but it did’nt work out, but if he trys hard , his invention will eventually work. so never give up

  23. farahhabibi
    February 21, 2013 at 8:05 am (11 years ago)

    The message of the video was that it’s okay if you make a mistake or even alot mistakes because everybody makes mistakes.I also feel that if I didn’t get that many A’s in my report card,my family was still proud of me because I always tried my best to achive that goal.I always will improve that what kind of subjects I need to get better at and what kinds of goals I should set until the 2nd report card.
    My connection – I watched a movis with my sisters and it was called “Cars”.What happend in that movie was at the end of the part the red car in the race helped win the other blue car in the race to finish the race before the red car. I agree that if a person kepps trying they will soon achive their goal.Some people judge a book by it’s cover but I dont because if you judge a book by it’s cover than maybe one day your friend will read that book and say that this book was awsome and maybe that moment you would wish that you have read that book. So, if I keep trying one day for sure i’ll achive all of my goals in a moment.
    – Farah

Leave a Reply