Soundtrack of your life

Music and Literacy:  Due Monday

Music is linked to how we learn how to read and write.  Music is tied to emotions such as sadness or happiness.  Music is celebrations, culture and what your friends listen too.  It is an important part of who we are as people.

Choose a mimimum of 5 songs and a maximum of 10 songs that are important to you.  They can be songs that:  are cultural, fun, important links to your family (wedding song for example) or songs that mean a lot to you.

Choose two songs and write a paragraph for each describing their importance to you.  The other remaining songs we will try and guess their importance and significance to you as a person.

Good luck. Enjoy your listening.

17 Comments on Soundtrack of your life

  1. Sofia
    October 14, 2010 at 7:34 pm (14 years ago)

    HHHEYY GUYS

    The songs thatare MOST important to ME are Oista Ra Boro it’s in my language, A year without rain Selena Gomez, Every time we touch Cascada, Bismallah Taher Shubab, THE BEST OF BOTH WORLDS from HANNAH MONTANA/MILEY CYRUS.

    The song Oista Ra Boro is important to me because that song every bride is suppost to use that song for there entrence, but they dont have to. the most interesting part of this song is that the singer/writer is unknown, because practiclly no one knows who first made the song or who first sang the song.

    A year without rain is specail to me because that is the first time she made a grown-up song, cause usaully her songs are kid songs. that song is just so AMAZING and i just can not beleive it.

    Cascadas song Every time we touch is a song i like to call a memory song because it brings back the memory of Richmond Hill when we would listen to the song so much. The sad thing about it is that she died in a plane 2 years ago BBOOOHHOOO .

    Taher Shubab is my uncle and he wrote a nice song called Bismillah that is very nice because its title has the word that we use to pray that is a very stronge word brcause like it means like your growing up. the best part of it is that im related to him.

    THE GRAND FINALLLY HANNAH MONTANA round of aplaus. By the way miley cyrus/hannah montana is my favourite singer,that song is very important to me because that is the very first song i heard from MILEY CYRUS/HANNAH MONTANA. Plus she is the best singer EEVVVEERR !!!!!!!!!!!

    Love your BEST student,
    Sofia.
    Sultani. 😉

  2. Ryan
    October 14, 2010 at 8:40 pm (14 years ago)

    My favourite songs are Airplanes, Perfect, Love The Way you Lie, Just The Way You Are and Three Little Birds. The song that I am going to tell you about is Perfect because the song is telling you that no one is perfect. The other song I am going to tell you about is Just The Way You Are because when you love someone it reminds you of them. The next song is Three Little Birds because it is a great song to listen to. The other song is Love The way you Lie because the song is so good and it has great rythom. Airplanes because the song remindes you of when you are on a real airplane. Let It Shine, I like this song because it is showing you a light to follow your dreams. My other song is Thriler because I love the song and it’s not like other songs. Butterflies because it is peaceful. When I Grow Up because the song is telling you not to wish for everything you want. The Climb because it’s telling you to follow your dreams.

  3. Ahkash
    October 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm (14 years ago)

    1.the first song I am going to say is sotruna vadeyan which is a thvaram which is a song we sing at our temple, it is the way we respect our god so that is very important to me.

    2.my second song is kagavathana which is a song I sing in my language and I get lots of good comments from elder people and lots of rewardes, and that makes my parents proud of me which is very important to me.

    3.cotten eye joe

    4.”I can transform ya”

  4. Selena Almeida
    October 14, 2010 at 9:26 pm (14 years ago)

    One of the songs that is important tome is called mama it is important to me because It was played at my aunt Julie’s weding when she got married. My second important song is called cocered the grave it is important to mem because it is one of my church songs.

  5. maya
    October 14, 2010 at 9:29 pm (14 years ago)

    Video Phone : Lady GaGa & Beyonce
    Wavin Flag : Knaan
    Pump It: Black Eyed Peas
    Tik Tok :Kesha
    P0ker Face: Lady GaGa
    Womanizer: Britney Spears
    Chicken Dance

    I love listening to Video Phone. It has such a unique and great beat that it makes you move your body to the beat. I love the costumes used in the video too. You can tell that Lady GaGa had a lot of influence on Beyonce even though Lady GaGa is near the end of the video.

    Waving Flag is such a strong song and it automatically makes people come together and feel good. The beat goes right through your body and the only way to really enjoy this song is to play it really loud for all to hear.

  6. vanessa
    October 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm (14 years ago)

    Tik Tok:Kesha
    Wavin flag:Knaan
    cha-cha slide:unknown
    Perfect:Headly
    Burnin Up:Jonas Brothers
    Teenage Dream:Katy Perry

    Sorry maya if i am copying your blog but i am not i am doing something differnt!

    1. Wavin flag is such a good song if you realy listen to it it is very emoshional.The dance that we do is realy fun and the tune to is the BEST!That is why it is one of my favourite songs!

  7. Tyler
    October 15, 2010 at 6:30 pm (14 years ago)

    Some songs that are important to me are:
    Heal the World by: Michael Jackson
    Dynamite by: Taio Cruz
    Pukka, Pukka, Pukka Squieetily Boink by: Wembley (from Fraggle Rock)
    Pots & Pans by: The Bacon Brothers
    Happy Together by: The Nylons
    Cow Planet by: Billy J Kramer

    Heal the World is important to me because the song is about protecting our planet from global warming. When I listen to it, it makes me feel peaceful on the inside. It also makes me feel like nothing is going to harm me or anything. The song makes me think about Terry Fox because the song talks about how we can make a difference in the world just like Terry Fox wanted to make a difference. That is why the song Heal the World by Michael Jackson is important to me.

    Dynamite is important to me because it brings back memories from my summer holidays at the Delawana Inn. It reminds me of the Delawana Inn because at kids’camp at lunchtime in the buffet they always played that song. The very first time I heard this song was this past summer and I really love it and I think it is great! That is why the song Dynamite by Taio Cruz is important to me.

  8. Jacob No
    October 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm (14 years ago)

    1. I like O’ Canada because it is the national anthem and it sounds good.
    2. The second song is “Waving flags” because sometimes at the talent show some teachers dance to it.
    3. I like the song “I got a feeling” because it has a good tune.
    4. I love the song “Fire flies” because it has a nice rhythm.
    5. I like the song “Billionaire” because one day I want to be a billionaire and share it with my family.

    DJ Jacob OUT

  9. Brandon
    October 16, 2010 at 11:57 am (14 years ago)

    Some songs that are important to me are: Don’t Cry, Head over heels, lost, Patience and November rain.

    Lost is an important song to me. Lost was the first song I wrote with my band. The main riff was from a Johnny Cash cover for Hurt, a song originally by a band called Nine Inch Nails. It’s the only song that we wrote that has a guitar solo, my solo. It’s a very simple song but it sounds really good. This song is special to me because it was the first song I wrote with my band.

    Don’t Cry is an important song to me also. Don’t Cry is the song that we are trying to learn right now. It is a song originally recorded by a band called Guns ‘N’ Roses. The song was my dad’s suggestion, so we all decided to learn it. I like the song because I like the guitar, drums and lyrics.

  10. Tanya
    October 16, 2010 at 5:01 pm (14 years ago)

    Songs That Are Important To Me

    There are lots of songs that are important to me.
    One of the songs is my family’s morning prayers!
    We listen to it every day waking up and getting dressed! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iO_sdfPPyXw
    My second song is a song called “All Izz Well!”
    It is from an Indian movie.
    The message of this movie was if your good at something be that when you grow up!
    Like if you’re good at fixing computers you should be something along the lines of computers.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pAE8LRI3usI (the link)
    My third song is from another Indian movie.
    The message is that learning can be fun in ways.
    You may not understand something but it`s okay!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=anCPlh18xSA&feature=PlayList&p=AF78E5BA81D3965F&index=0&playnext=1 (the link)
    My fourth song is naturally by Selena Gomez.
    I picked this song because it has meaning!
    The meaning is you shouldn’t be afraid to be yourself.
    You shouldn’t be like your favourite singer you should be yourself! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_iQFqRzw0cw (the link)
    My fifth song is called This Is Me by Demi Lovato.
    This song has the same meaning as naturally.
    It has a lot of meaning!
    That is why I like it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9HF23ifglyU (the link)
    These are songs and that is why there important to me!!!
    By: Tanya Anand           

  11. Tushar Nair
    October 16, 2010 at 7:11 pm (14 years ago)

    My favourite songs are… Celebrity Status, Monster, Dynamite, Love The Way You Lie, Eye Of The Tiger.

    Dynamite is a good song because its fun and energetic. Taio Cruz is one of my favourite artists plus i like the song because it makes me energetic and happy.

    Monster is a good song cuz it makes you feel like a monster! Skillet is one of my favourite bands and i like there song monster the best.

    Celebrity Status- Marianas Trench
    Monster- Skillet
    Dynamite- Taio Cruz
    Love The Way You Lie- Eminem and Rihanna
    Eye Of The Tiger- Survivor

  12. Becca
    October 17, 2010 at 6:31 pm (14 years ago)

    I’m really not a music type of person but rather theme songs is what I like.I pay attention to music because I like the message it gives me. Although, there are two songs that have special meaning to me because when I hear them I remember particular things. ‘Goodbye’,’Mario’ theme song,’O Canaada’,’Who let the dogs out’,’California girls. 1.’Goodbye’ the first rollercoaster that I went on played this song when it let me GO! 2.’Mario’ theme song because I like to play this game and it always starts off with that song…. my Moms ring tone so when I hear it I think of her.

  13. jr mohan
    October 17, 2010 at 7:11 pm (14 years ago)

    to me i hate love songs because it is some guy or girl that is talking about a break up or something. to me my favorite songs are songs that are fast. fast songs are my favorite because these songs are kind of types of a different song. like for a moveie if you play a song that is in two movies it will probally mean something diffrent. i think we did this because we can see what each song means to each pearson

  14. Adi
    October 17, 2010 at 7:16 pm (14 years ago)

    My favourite songs are 50 artists for Haiti (first version was made by Knaan), Perfect by Headly, Jab Life Ho out of Control (a song in Hindi), Dynamite by Taio Cruz, Like A-G6 and Replay. These songs are not only entertaining to listen to but they encourage people with their strong wording and catchy rhythms.
    The first song I’m going to talk about is “50 artists for Haiti”. It`s a song with a strong message, that motivates people to help others in their time of need. I`m really touched by the efforts of the 50 artists who came together to raise money for Haiti victims. Their efforts also motivated me to contribute towards the cause. If they can do such an amazing effort than why can`t we.
    Next, I`m going to talk about the song “Jab Life Ho out of Control.” I like this song because the lesson is, always think positive. No matter, how tough situations get in life, always be positive, humorous and just feel “all is well”. Whenever I get into a pickle, I think about this song and it helps me think positive no matter how challenging the situation is.
    Last but not least, I`m going to tell you why “Perfect” is one of my favourite songs. The song tells people that no one is perfect and no one will ever be perfect but everyone should at least try their best. This song makes me feel good because when I`m in a lot of pressure I think about this song and that makes me calm down a little. It calms me down because the song reminds me that no one is perfect and if I make a mistake, it`s still going to be fine.
    Life is a journey with lots of ups and downs. If you run into an obstacle put all your efforts into it, think positive and you will surly get past it

  15. T.J. Landry
    October 17, 2010 at 7:39 pm (14 years ago)

    I am going to tell you the Music that is important to me not the ones I like.The nhl Music is important to me because it is part of the Canadian sport hockey. The national anthem is important to me because its one of the biggest thing that bring Canada together.

  16. Maitri
    October 18, 2010 at 4:49 pm (14 years ago)

    My favourite song is Dynamite from tai crize,airplanes,a year without rain from selena gomez,wavin flag,and i got a feelin from black eyed peas and jana gana mana (india’s national anthem) and last but not least…natrully from selena gomez.

    The 2 songs I am going to talk about are…natrully and jana gana mana(india’s national anthem).

    To me natrully is one of my favourite songs because I love selena gomez’s songs.Another reason I love natrully is because it gives us a message that you shouldn’t get upset with what you have and blame someone for it because everything comes naturally.My last reason is that I like the tune.

    Jana Gana Mana is a good song because of lots of reasons and some of the reosons are
    1.To me when you are angry and you sing the anthem it comes me down.
    2.But I don’t like the anthem is because it is so long and it is hard to memorize it(but what you ganna do,it is not like I can just pick my national anthem)
    3.The best reaoson I like the anthem is because when you sing the anthem,thetre is a tray and on the tray there is like a little cup with fire in it so when you sing the anthem you have to turn the tray in circles which is pretty cool for me.

  17. Raquel
    October 18, 2010 at 4:58 pm (14 years ago)

    I really enjoy music!
    Music makes me laugh, smile, feel good,…there’s a lot of soundtracks that I like but here’s 5 of them that make part of my life:
    Dynamite by Taio Cruz
    September by Earth, wind and Fire
    Tik Tok by Kesha
    Tarantella
    Cooler than Me by Mike Posner

    I like the song Tik Tok by kesha because my best friend and I use to dance to this song all the time!We have it video taped so we will never forget our special song. We combined our 2 totally different dances together to make a special dance with both of own technique to make it special.

    I also like the song Tarantella because it’s a piano song that made me get in into the talent show last year.That song also gave me a good mark at my grade 4 paino exam.I have never performed it in front of more than 1 person!

    Now there’s 3 songs left, which I know the maening of them 🙂 but now it’s your job to find out why are they special to me. Have fun!!!

Leave a Reply