Science Fair Friday

On Friday…a science fair took place in room 217 at Kindree P.S.  Students did an amazing

job showcasing and demonstrating various examples of “changes in matter”.

Please write a reflection paragraph or newpaper review or dear diary entry on your day in the life of a scientist.

 Great job to you all…the day was a huge success.

We look forward to reading all your responses.

23 Comments on Science Fair Friday

  1. manum
    February 6, 2011 at 9:05 am (13 years ago)

    On Friday 2011 February 3, I became a scientist. It was my frist science fair. The science fair was about Chang in matter. In the science fair me and my patner Melisa were doing a penny experienct. We used Venger, boll, fork and salt. The experienct workes by when the salt and Venger came together and make a chemicalat that’s cleans the penny .This experienct was the solid that’s the penny did not tarn in to liquid it just changed the way it lookes like driyt but then it tarns to shiney. I was nervos, But it went very good. Kids came to our stand, and the penny cleaning was great. I flet great. That’s was the best science fair i have been to. Also I never forgot it. Being a scientist is great. You should try it some time. By

    ps.I loved the science fair.

    By:Manum shahid

  2. vanessarose
    February 6, 2011 at 9:35 am (13 years ago)

    dear diary today my class and i class became scientist and held a science fair in our class room 217!

    me and becca were partners for our assiginment.
    we did an exparement that show that vinigar and baking soda can blow up a balloon! what you do is you take the vinigar and pour alittle bit into the emty bottle. Next you take the baking soda and pour alittile bit into the balloon.finally you quikly put the balloon on to of the bottle and making sure every thing is covered and wacth the balloon blow up!

    me and becca weren’t the only one doing it 2 other groups were doing it too i just wish it was only me and becca because the kids could see something different.

    but there was 1 difference and it was that knowone else did it in a test tube!

    from vanessa

  3. Tushar
    February 6, 2011 at 9:36 am (13 years ago)

    DIARY:
    I just got a job as a meteorologist, doesn’t that sound fun! I get to predict the weather, but I just can’t say it’s going to rain or anything, I have to do research to find out what kind of weather it is. Meteorologists have to use weather maps and all sorts of other things to find out what weather it is. So far at work it’s been fun even though I mostly get the weather wrong they don’t blame because I just started the job. Predicting the weather is fun! I just got the weather right after I predicted a blizzard on February 2nd 2011 (everyone predicted it) and I got it right! So many Schools, School boards and buses were closed. Well that’s my diary entry, Bye.

  4. anuj
    February 6, 2011 at 10:52 am (13 years ago)

    Dear Diary,

    On Feb. 4 2011 I became the next Albert Einstien , Me and my partner ryan Made a amazing creation the tornado in a bottle sometimes we had crowds and sometimes we had only 2 people once ryan put too much soap and there was no tornado
    but lucky for us when that happend our crowd was kinder- garteners and they beliveid when the water was swirling around they thought that was the tornado. well that’s it bye.P.S I liked your entry vanessa it is pretty neat

  5. tanyaanand
    February 6, 2011 at 11:22 am (13 years ago)

    Dear diary to my whole class did a science fair we were SCIENCTISTS!!! It was so much fun. I was by myself but my project was precipitation in a box. I was helping my friend Alia. She was doing chemical reactions. Okay back to me. Well everyone was understanding how the water vapor (steam) made the precipitation! I am proud of myself. It was fun. Hey diary you want to hear something else. People outside of our classroom said what is that smell. UGH vinger. Guess what I said YEA that’s our new perfume. I dont’ blame them. But after a while I felt sick and had a stomach ache. Don’t cry diary i’m okay now. Well there were lots of projects like volocano, quicksand, goop, bubbles, dancing goop, and a tornado. These things are soo cool. But do you know what. If we didn’t get it the first time we would try and try again to get it. We know that we can do it. 😀 I want do it again. AWESOME! Well that’s all for todays entry. Bye diary! I will write in you some other time.

    By:Tanya 🙂 😉 😀 😛 8)

  6. Alia :D
    February 6, 2011 at 11:46 am (13 years ago)

    Dear Diary,
    On Friday at school my class and I held a science fair on changes in matter, it was really fun!
    We only did the science fair all day long! It was a really awesome feeling like a scientist or a chemist for one day, mixing chemicals, making gases and having lots of fun having other kids view your project and appreciate your hard work. I had done what I call a Chemical reaction in a bottle, which was puting baking soda in a balloon, then vinegar in a bottle and then putting the balloon on the bottle and mixing and shaking it up so that the balloon got bigger. I am very happy to say that mostly it worked, although once or twice it didn’t. And also once or twice it blew up in some ones face, sorry if that was You if your reading this…. Sometimes little kids got bored and just wanted something to blow up… I could’nt say no to them ( I think I wanted it to blow to). So I did, but I put the balloon on after, so it still worked . Anyway the science fair ended up being really fun even though there was a mess and it smelled like vinegar and there was baking soda in alot of peoples’ hair. I had fun!! PS. thank u Tanya and Maitri for helping me out!

  7. imranalli
    February 6, 2011 at 1:05 pm (13 years ago)

    On February 4,2011 at Kindree P.S in room 217 had a science fair.
    The science fair was about change of matter. My experiment was about how dish soap destroys fat in the milk all you need is milk, dish washing liquid, food colouring and a plate. First you pour the milk in to the plate then you put the food colouring spaced out on the milk after that you put the dish washing liquid and watch the colourful display. What is happening is the dish soap is made to destroy bacteria and because the milk has fat it is trying to destroy that too and at the same time it creates a colour full display. When the were done there was a

  8. Raquel
    February 6, 2011 at 2:19 pm (13 years ago)

    Dear Diary,
    Today I had a Science Fair in room 217 and it was AWESOME!
    We did so many great experiments like Goop, Bubbles, Explosions and lots more! There was so many people watching and in the begining, I was kind of nervous but, after the first period was over, I wanted to do it over and over and over and over… The Science project that I did was “Goop & Bubbles”. I had a great time! For me, the best part about Science Fairs is the cool explosions that happen. The most common one at our Scince Fair was the Baking Soda Volcano. Some people really made the volcano but some people just did the mixture of those 2 ingredients.
    We had so many classes coming to our class to watch us doing our expeiments. Too see the other kids expressions on theur faces was amazing!!! I believe they had fun and really enjoyed it!

    I had a great time at the Science Fair and I hope we can do another one at Lisgar!

    I have to thank my teacher, Mr. Woods, for letting me having me so much fun and at the same time we learned too. Yes, Science can be FUN!!! Thanks and Thanks again MR.WOODS!

    Your Friend,
    Raquel Medeiros 🙂

  9. Tyler
    February 6, 2011 at 3:00 pm (13 years ago)

    Dear Diary,
    On Friday, February 4th 2011, at Kindree Public School in room 217, there was a class science fair! All the greatest scientists in history were invited. That day, I probably became one of the best scientists on the face of the earth! So many people came to see the quicksand I created! My quicksand was simple: All it included was 1 cup of cornstarch and 1/2 cup of water. After that, BLAMO SLAMO! I made this simple concoction that acts like quicksand! So many people came to my booth that I lost track! The quicksand got lots and lots of peoples’ hands really gooey. The science fair was about Changes in Matter. Everyone in the class did really well. I was not at all worried because I had prepared and practiced a lot what I was going to say to the visitors to my booth! It took me only 10 seconds (a new record!) to find an experiment I wanted to show. Lots of classes came to visit and I had to show my project so many times but it was still fun. The classroom stunk of vinegar and explosions due to a lot of the other experiments. I LOVE BEING A SCIENTIST!! My goal in the science fair was to convince kids that quicksand acts like both a solid and a liquid. And I achieved it! I will never forget the wonderful things that happened on that day.

    P.S E=mc2!

  10. Sofia
    February 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm (13 years ago)

    HHHEEEEEEELLLLLLOOOOOOO

    Dear, Diary

    On last friday i had a sciance fair!
    it was very fun we had lots of fun there were volcanos gooeyness and bubbles. the science fair is a fun way of learing well better than a science test, i’ll say. In the beggining my experiment wasn’t going as it was suppost to be but then, after lunch it was great i had t=my volcano come out perfectly. When it would explode on to the dirt it would fell so goowey and groos. it was a great and fabtastic day it was wonderful i hope every single thing in school is fun like this science fair so byebye 😛

    Love ME,
    Sofia.
    Sultani

  11. selena
    February 6, 2011 at 5:45 pm (13 years ago)

    On friday feburary 3rd 2011 I had the best time I ever had in schoool before because we had a mini science fair!!!It was so much fun there was lots of cool exparaments I learned how to do on that amazing day!Me and my friend did a erupting volcano by using viniger and baking soda.The gas that we made spiled all over me.I was a mess when I came home I had baking soda all over my black pants when I came home that day and I smelled like viniger and baking soda wich made the smell of dirty dog whooof what a smell!But one tiny problem went rong me and my friend did not have enouph viniger and we did not have any baking soda but thanks to my friend Alia she let us some baking soda and vinger for the morning because at lunch my teacher went and bought some of both for who ever needed it!!Even though some problems went rong I still had the best time ever thanks to Mr.woods!!!

  12. Ryan
    February 6, 2011 at 6:23 pm (13 years ago)

    Dear diary.
    On friday I became a scientist.
    It was very fun lots of kids showed up at our booth, we got to show classes about mater and what it can do. At the Science Fair I got to see how you can make a dirty old penney into a shiny penny,I got to see how a little beed can ubsorb the water and be huge. I made a Tornato in a bottle. all you need is a bottle with a cap, dish soap,glitter,water in a jug and a funel. First you would put two drops of dish soap in the bottle,then put the water in the bottle using the funnel until the soap rises to the top and then put the gliter in and seal the bottle and shake it hard unuf and you will have your own tornato. other things in the science fair was quicksnd,volcanos,colour separate and mentos bomb.

    Byeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  13. Katherine Baldock
    February 6, 2011 at 6:59 pm (13 years ago)

    Dear Diary,
    Today I was a part of a science fair and every body had a project I did to I was partners with Selena that was so much fun! We did a volcano it was so weird to see it explode so many times. I was so happy to see so many class come to see our mini science fair. The last class that was to come was my brothers class but mr.woods cancelled because there was to much mess. But preparing was a mess to.Over all it was so much FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  14. Becca
    February 6, 2011 at 7:02 pm (13 years ago)

    Dear diary,
    Today in room 217 Me and Vanessa bacame first time scientist.We were so nervous about if the experiment would work or not and YES YES it did,pressure was off and we could continue showing off our work of art!! Our experiment was the MAGIC BALLOON,which you add vinegar and baking soda into a test tube and watch what happens to the balloon. Visitors at our booth were in shock

    , I hope it wasn’t because the experiment actually worked, deear diary I will have to get back to you on that one. Didn’t matter anyway because Vanessa and myself make a great team and had fun!!!!!! Seeing other scientist’ CHANGES IN MATTER’was alot of fun and I learned stuff too. Great job to room 217:D

  15. imranalli
    February 6, 2011 at 8:03 pm (13 years ago)

    On February 4,2011 at Kindree P.S in room 217 had a science fair.
    The science fair was about change of matter. My experiment was about how dish soap destroys fat in the milk all you need is milk, dish washing liquid, food colouring and a plate. First you pour the milk in to the plate then you put the food colouring spaced out on the milk after that you put the dish washing liquid and watch the colourful display. What is happening is the dish soap is made to destroy bacteria and because the milk has fat it is trying to destroy that too and at the same time it creates a colour full display. When we were done there was a big mess. IT WAS AWESOME.

  16. Calvin
    February 6, 2011 at 8:52 pm (13 years ago)

    Can learning be fun?

    Yes it can be and I am writing to tell you all about it. Words got out that Mr. Woods a grade 5 teacher in room 217 was holding a science fair on Friday, February 4 at Kindree Public School. There must be like 30 mini scientists showcasing and demostrating various examples of changes in matter. The smell coming from that classroom was so stinky that you can smell it all the way down the hall. But the atmosphere in that classroom was nothing but fun. I saw experiments on making baking soda volcano, gooey quicksand, goop and bubbles, dancing goop, tornado in a bottle, shiney penny and much much more. These scientists are smart. Mr. Woods did a wonderful job in teaching them. Students from other classrooms were in and out checking out the science fair. I say everyone had a blast.

    This is Calvin Chong reporting to you from the Lisgar What’s the Scoop Newspaper.

  17. jr mohan
    February 7, 2011 at 7:42 am (13 years ago)

    on Friday i got to be a chemistry scientist! i got to see how polymer reacts to water! i also learned it can change by different mediums like oil and liquid corn starch. i also got to try my friends experiments like tylers quicksand and more! i am very fascinated of how people had different taste of of style to there project. i hope we do it again!

    by. j……………… ya it still says

  18. saad
    February 7, 2011 at 9:29 am (13 years ago)

    dear diary , on friday 2011 feburary 4th we had our science fair. i parnerd with zain i was happy that i was parnerd up with zain we did our poster and it said streach the surface of water. all me and zain had to do was take an eye droper and pour drops in a filled up cup and we had to do it a lot of times

  19. Matthew Coulson
    February 7, 2011 at 11:04 am (13 years ago)

    On February 16 th Mr.Woods Let us pick a partner to make an experiment with your partner.
    My partner was Chris. Chris and myself made a volcano. The volcano me and Chris made a volcano with clay and vinegar and baking soda.
    The reason why we choose to make a volcano is because they are interesting and awesome..Thank you Mr.Woods for giving us the best Friday ever .
    If you haven’t thanked Mr.Woods Do it when you can.
    Mr.Woods Should do this with the futcher grade 5’s.
    Chris and the class had the best time doing a science experment. Thank You For Reading

    Thank You Sincerely: Matthew Coulson
    Date:Febuary17th

  20. Jacob No
    February 7, 2011 at 11:09 am (13 years ago)

    On Friday February 16, 2011, Mr.Woods let us do a science fair and we had to think can about what you wanted to do but it had to be related matter. You can have a partner or do it yourself. I did the project by my self. If you want to know what I did I did a baking soda volcano. 😛 😛 😛 🙂 🙂 🙂

  21. Matthew Coulson
    February 7, 2011 at 11:11 am (13 years ago)

    On February 16 th Mr.Woods Let us pick a partner to make an experiment with your partner.
    My partner was Chris. Chris and myself made a volcano. The volcano me and Chris made a volcano with clay and vinegar and baking soda.
    The reason why we choose to make a volcano is because they are interesting and awesome..Thank you Mr.Woods for giving us the best Friday ever .
    If you haven’t thanked Mr.Woods Do it when you can.
    Mr.Woods Should do this with the futcher grade 5’s.
    Chris and the class had the best time doing a science experment. Thank You For Reading

    Thank You Sincerely: Matthew Coulson :p :p :p 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    WWWEEEDate:Febuary17th

  22. jahkubb
    February 7, 2011 at 11:32 am (13 years ago)

    On Friday the 4th …in Room 217 we had a science fair and it was the best in the world if only we could do it every day.

    But I had the best project…

    PEACE OUT

  23. maya
    February 7, 2011 at 4:39 pm (13 years ago)

    On Friday, the sicence fair was awesome and i loved every ones. there were so many volcanos, exploions, changes, gooy stuff and so much more. everyone had fun and enjoyed it. the main thing i heard was awe. also i loved the mintos and tonic water. it looked like the the water was boiling. the black light made it so much better. most of my friends had the day off but in this case going to school is better. another booth that i liked was the speakers with the solid/liquid. every one was gooey and the liquid was jumping every where.well i have somuch more but i think that s enough.

    written by: hockeymaya -_- 😉 🙂 :p

  24. Robt
    March 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm (11 years ago)

    This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking
    more of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your web site in my social networks!

    my web site … orquesta atraccion

Leave a Reply