Halloween Dollars vs Halloween Change

A topic worth discussing

Read the article:     http://www.thestar.com/living/article/1270226–halloween-ranks-second-only-to-christmas-for-spending-poll-finds.  The article explains how much money Canadians are spending on Hallowe’en.

Watch these videos.  These videos explain a social justice side of Halloween and what we can do to possibly help the problem.

Please respond in a paragraph. Pick one of these themes by explaining what shocked you, inspired you or what does these say or mean to you for this Hallowe’en?

or

 

21 Comments on Halloween Dollars vs Halloween Change

  1. om
    October 29, 2012 at 5:07 pm (12 years ago)

    in video number one the thing that shocked me was over 1/3 of children go hungry ever day. in video number two the thing that surprised me was when the kids went out to trick or treat i think they asked if they would like to donate caned food and the people did give them caned food like soup and other stuff.

  2. chrismyrox
    October 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm (12 years ago)

    I think that video was meant to show people what they can do to solve world hunger on Halloween. What shocked me was that the entire community pitched in to solve world hunger. All the people gave their canned food to the people participating in the event. I am excited to help my community to give the people that don’t have food.

  3. chrismyrox
    October 29, 2012 at 5:26 pm (12 years ago)

    I think that video was meant to show people what they can do to solve world hunger on Halloween. What shocked me was that the entire community pitched in to solve world hunger. All the people gave their canned food to the people participating in the event. I am excited to help my community to give the people that don’t have food food.

  4. rayaq
    October 29, 2012 at 5:49 pm (12 years ago)

    What shocked me is that there is at least millions of people going hungry everyday day also that one third(1\3) of them are children. What inspired me is that instead of collecting candy collect can goods and donate to charity to help Help Hunger disappear.

  5. anannya123
    October 29, 2012 at 5:51 pm (12 years ago)

    Millions of people are hungry every day but 1/3 of them are children.We can go door to door on Halloween and trick or treat for non perishable food or collect can food at school. We will easily reach a million pounds of food to help people who are hungry. This is what surprised me, we spent a ton of money on Halloween. I responded on the 1 video.

  6. viduni
    October 29, 2012 at 6:50 pm (12 years ago)

    What surprised me this that over one third of the people that go hungry everyday are children like you and me. This video inspired me to go Trick or Treating for non-perishable food items as well as candy. They are trying to reach over one million pounds of food to help hunger disappear.

  7. kindreebrady
    October 29, 2012 at 8:53 pm (12 years ago)

    Halloween Dollars

    This article had one particular thing that was shocking to me. Some people spend $300 on costumes and candy for Halloween! Most Canadians only spend $75. My family spent over $200 which actually did really shock me! I think that amount is acceptable because Halloween is the second best Holiday in the world.
    After watching the videos I also am going to donate food to “scare away hunger”(that was not MY quote). This year Halloween may be demolished by the Frankenstorm but the money spent was not wasted because I will still have my costume and I get to eat two boxes of candy.

  8. yashviparmar
    October 29, 2012 at 8:56 pm (12 years ago)

    this is a great idea! Why? because people in our communtiy and even around the world are going hungery.if you were the hungery person you would know how hard life is.every halloween you get candy it is bad for your health as well as teeth so this halloween if we collect non-perishable food items we will make a big differnce for everyone. it will make a differnce for us cause we won`t eat the un health candy and it will make you feel proud becuse you helped the communtiy.also you helped the hungery people.be a hero this halloween. Happy halloween!

  9. rachel
    October 30, 2012 at 4:03 pm (12 years ago)

    The video that inspired me was the one about the family going trick or treating not just for candy, but, caned food. This is inspired me that since go trick or treating to so many houses, maybe I could get lots of food from them too. What shoked me was that these kids thot of such a good idea and for such a big cause. This means that this Hallowe’ne I’m going to ask for caned food to githe food bank.ve to

  10. batman26618
    October 30, 2012 at 4:39 pm (12 years ago)

    What was shocking in this video is people go hungry every day and 1/3 of them are children. This video inspired to give non-perishable to the food.

  11. souvik
    October 30, 2012 at 5:14 pm (12 years ago)

    What surprised me was that millions of people go hungry everyday and one third of that is children!! I can not imagine me as one of the children because I don’t go hungry any day but those kids go hungry everyday. The thing that inspired me was the kids in the second video did not collect candy instead they collected non-perishable foods like canned soup. They say that if we all join forces we can raise over a million pounds of food. I think I am going to donate some canned goods to this charity.

  12. trad
    October 30, 2012 at 5:50 pm (12 years ago)

    what suprised me about the artical is the some people spend so much money on the halloween costumes and mostlie on candy and they dont thing about the people who go hungry every day my family didnt spend a lot we only spent $130 dollars on candy and decorations and costumes and im going to bring in a food item

  13. Kindree Amrita
    October 30, 2012 at 6:26 pm (12 years ago)

    One big thing that had shocked is that poeple are starving everyday and 1/3 and children. And all together that could be millions and millions of people straving. I will be bringing in some non-perishable food items to scare away the hunger. So how about we all scare away hunger by bringing in some food (non-perishable) and be heros to make hunger “disappear”. – Amrita 🙂

  14. myahussain
    November 1, 2012 at 5:03 pm (12 years ago)

    what surprised me was that 1 thurd of starving people are chilldren not adults. lots of people are hungry they are doing a good thing by rasing food items. another thing that surprised me was that millions of people go hungry EVERY DAY

  15. Kailey frost
    November 3, 2012 at 2:43 pm (12 years ago)

    I was surprised that most people just spend all there money on costumes,candy and lots of Halloween decorations but we should instead donate to the people who actually need food and water and that have disadvantages all around the world… But I did not no that 1/3 people are children!! (cause that is just sad)

  16. bavita
    November 5, 2012 at 4:34 pm (11 years ago)

    Millons of people are starving everyday and 1/3 of them are children. Can’t you belive that. that does not sound right to make it sound right bring in some food to help scare hunger. Bring in some food that is non-perishable that means no food thats not packeged oh make hunger not avaibale.

  17. tasmiah
    November 5, 2012 at 6:45 pm (11 years ago)

    I chose video number 1.I am very astounded.That 1/3 of the children in canada are desirous.I also think that congressing non-perishable food is an abundant conception.I think the scare away hunger charity is going to be a brimming prevail.
    Tasmiah 🙂

  18. Aleem
    November 5, 2012 at 9:06 pm (11 years ago)

    It’s very sad to know that there are so many people around the world that have no food and 1/3 are children. Kids should never ever go hunger, it astonished me to know how much food we throw away each day. Lots of people are asking for food as a treat. We can all do our part to stop hunger by donating non-perusable foods, money and volunteering. If we all work together we can scare away hunger.

  19. farahhabibi
    November 6, 2012 at 7:17 am (11 years ago)

    hi

  20. farahhabibi
    November 6, 2012 at 7:32 am (11 years ago)

    What surprised me was that 1/3 of the children around the world are hungry,looking for food and where they get their food from? from is the garbage bin.The 2nd video inspired me that I may dont celebrate halloween or go for trick o treating but for others around the world I can make it fun and better.I will bring in some non-perishable food items to support and help SCARE AWAY HUNGER!:) The second video again shocked me that they were collecting canned foods instead of candy.We all can bring aleast one canned food to scare hunger away forever.

  21. kylawinger
    November 9, 2012 at 9:45 am (11 years ago)

    I think this video is meant to show you what you can do to stop hunger. It was surprising that 1/3 of the children around the world are starving because they don’t have any food to eat. So we need to scare hunger and donate food for the people that don’t have any food.

Leave a Reply