Music and Reading

Do you hum the alphabet song when trying to remember if “s” comes before “t”? Do you remember songs easier than your timetables?

Whatever your experiences with music, music classes, choir, piano/guitar etc., lessons or just listening to cd’s/mp3’s, we all think it is cool in different ways.

In your life, explain to us your experiences on the impact that music has had on you learning how to read and write.

Links that my help “jump start” your thinking:

http://treehousetv.com/blogs/read_indoor_fun/archive/2007/08/02/songs-with-actions.aspx

21 Comments on Music and Reading

  1. vanessarose
    November 9, 2010 at 4:24 pm (13 years ago)

    it has helped me read and write because it is very creative and so is reading and writing. it is very spirital and it makes me and other people feel good too.
    it also helps me consentrate on what i am doing because it makes me feeel not so stressed with something hard so i lisen to music alot. the world is full of very hard choices so music calms me down.

    vanessa

  2. anuj
    November 9, 2010 at 4:36 pm (13 years ago)

    My experiences with music have changed me as a person by playing the guitar . I can rock and roll when i’m happy and put my amp on high,but when i’m sad i’m playing “amazing grace.” I think people who can’t talk should express they’re feelings by music . At first when I wanted to play the guitar it was because of MR.ZACHARIAH , yes i know it’s kinda weird to want to play a instrument because your teacher is doing it.But i wasn’t copying him i was just inspired by it . After that day i just said to myself just let it go , i don’t know why i said that to myself.Because the next thing you know i am meeting with my brother’s piano teacher and man that guy know’s his stuff ,well let’s just say i could sit on a chair and listen to his music.So signed up and now look at me i can start a one-man rock band!!!

  3. Alia
    November 9, 2010 at 4:40 pm (13 years ago)

    Music is a way to express yourself and your creativity. When you play, sing or dance to or with music you can express yourself! I love to listen to music, sing ,and dance… this helps with writing or reading because its easy to remember a note or a beat or synphanie, you listen to the tune then you feel it enter your heart you remember the beat you dance to it, clap it, or sing it. The music allowes you to write it you make it up you read it. Like playing recorder you read B,A,G and you play it and turn it into a song. Sometimes a make a song or a poem for multyplication to memorize it. If you know music its easier for you to come up with something! I remember the steps to dancing by knowing the words then suddenly by knowing the words you put them all together and you know the dance. Music is just as inportant as math, science, language, or social studies. It’s a part of life!

  4. jr mohan
    November 9, 2010 at 4:48 pm (13 years ago)

    music helps us learn because you hear people hum song all the time and if you can make a song for lets say math it will get stuck in your head and you will remember it like songs for fast food restaurant for e.g budabuppapa= macdonalds. songs that helped me learn were my abc french song days of the week\month songs and more

  5. Sofia
    November 9, 2010 at 4:52 pm (13 years ago)

    HHEEEYYYYHHEYYY

    I DID NOT TELL ANYBODY I PLAYED THIS MUSICAL INSTRUMENT.

    .So what i playED in music is a guitar but now i dont because the teacher was real strict and i didn’t like it so i stopped but yeah.

    But on the first couple days it was kind of fun because teachers like making nice first days but i would play my own way and the teacher would get mad at me ,but i did not care at all. The music actually just flowed on to me and i liked how i would do it an original way.

    I did not like the fact the teacher tells you everything and you have to remember so that is why i quit it. But you Mr.Woods let us learn the way we understand it so yeah

    Anyways

    BYEBYE From You Student,
    Sofia.
    Sultani :p

  6. Ryan
    November 9, 2010 at 5:53 pm (13 years ago)

    Music helps me in reading because, it would relax you.
    I get relaxed by playing my piano, and iPod. First my iPod relaxes me because, it has all my favourite songs on it. Seconly My piano relaxes me because first it’s fun and music is creative to me. people don’t realy want to do music and it is not on the top of the list for schools. Music is lots of things like dance reading writing music invols everything, thats why I love insterments. When I started piano I was so exsited but after my first lesson I hated it. My mom told me to keep on do piano. So I did and the next day I loved it . Music is great in many diffrent ways.

  7. tanyaanand
    November 9, 2010 at 6:11 pm (13 years ago)

    To me the expericence has changed with music! It’s changed because I learned to play the piano. When I see it I will sit down and play what comes from my heart. Playing for my friends and family is amazing because you have an audience to cheer and say YAY!! 🙂 🙂 I wanted to play piano because I say so many people playing insterments and when ever I hear the piano I fall in love with it. That is how I got a new experience with music!

  8. tanyaanand
    November 9, 2010 at 6:14 pm (13 years ago)

    To : Alia

    Your paragraph really inspiring to me!

    From : Tanya Anand 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. Tyler
    November 9, 2010 at 6:25 pm (13 years ago)

    My experiences on the impact music has had on me learning how to read and write are that when I play the recorder it teaches me how to read music. Also, children’s songs such as ‘The Alphabet song’ taught me how to say my a,b,c’s when I was little. I also think that for songs on the radio, the lyrics use language and the lyrics are kind of like poetry. Poetry can sometimes be complicated and hard to understand, so when you put it into music it makes it more interesting. I think that it is helpful that music can help with literacy.

  10. jacob
    November 9, 2010 at 7:10 pm (13 years ago)

    Music to me is when you hum, sing, play an instrument , or tap a beat. Music and reading are the same because singers read their songs but their letters are notes. There is different types of music like beat-boxing, fun songs, sad songs, and just original songs. A lot of people have different feelings about music and what type of music they like. To me music can help you learn to read and memorize words through songs. Reading notes is like reading a book but, more fun. I love music because it can change your mood. I like all types of music, even the old tunes my mom sings like from Queen and ABBA. And that is my experiences of music.

    Thank you for letting me show what music is to me.
    peace out! 🙂

  11. TUSHAR
    November 9, 2010 at 7:46 pm (13 years ago)

    When I was little my mom used to read me nursery rhymes. So I tried to read them myself. Also playing instruments like piano and recorder helps you to read music. In grade four my teacher Ms. Muir let us write poems a lot so that is a way music has helped me to write. The abc song helped me learn and write alphabets. Different genres of music like rock help me to get active. That is how music has helped me to read and write.

  12. Calvin
    November 9, 2010 at 7:50 pm (13 years ago)

    music heilps me read because I get to understand the notes and play it on a introment.it help me wriye because I can keep practicing my not that I read so I can write it down to show people where ever I am.

  13. imranalli
    November 9, 2010 at 8:34 pm (13 years ago)

    I think music is AWSOME because it is a good way to express your felling if you are happy or sad .music is a good way to relax your mind and some get you very energetic.Music is a good way of learning and it helps you remember stuff like the A,B,C and the 1,2,3 and other stuff.Music helps you speak your mind.When I am doing art and stuff I like listening to POP music and it helps me concentrate.Music has been around since the beginning of time and still injoyed by the whole world.
    Diffrent cultures have diffrent music and some music is for every one

  14. T.J. Landry
    November 9, 2010 at 8:46 pm (13 years ago)

    Music helps me like to read notes in piano with originates with reading. Also you can makeup a rhyme to remember something your stuck on a test, a quiz or a question for homework and it really modavates you to do your beast in anything. Real songs from artists and you dont know how to sing your favorit song you could copy the words on paper and see words you never seeing before that could really help someone to read or learn a new word to help you.

  15. Raquel
    November 9, 2010 at 8:52 pm (13 years ago)

    When I was little, my family and friends taught me a whle bunch of songs like twinkle,twinkle and ABC’s. Before I went to Kindergarden, I didn’t know how to read very much. When we were singing songs from a poster and the teacher said we were going to read and sing I got nervous as I didn’t know what the words said. As soon the teacher said the name of the song I started to sing it with no problem as I already knew the song. After a while I was not just singing what I had memorized but reading the song from the poster. Another example, the ABC’s song. My mom taught that song before I started school, I had no idea that they were the real letters of the alphabet. At school, the teacher asked me if I knew my ABC’s, something clicked on my head when she said ABC’s 🙂 so I started to sing the song; the teacher said I was right, I did well! Everytime I had the alphabet in front of me I use to sing it to myself at the same time I was looking at the letters. It was a way for me to learn and recognize all the letters. Knowing all of them and reading a bit was a big help to start writing.
    Today I don’t need songs to teach me how to read and write but I do listen music a lot. I have such a good and relaxing cd at home called “the best of solitudes”.When I read I put the music on very low and it’s so nice to read with the sound of the music on. The “songs” on the cd are very relaxing, you listen the birds singing, the rain falling, the waterfalls,…even when I have/feel like writing I put the cd on.
    As you should know I also play the piano. Playing the piano sometimes inspires me, other times I close my eyes while playing and I forget about the world outside and makes me feel I’m the only one there, it’s also relaxing for me playing the piano.
    I love music!

  16. Becca
    November 9, 2010 at 8:58 pm (13 years ago)

    I like listening to my mp3 when i’m in the car going for long rides. It helps me pass the time and sometimes puts me to sleep.I also remember a song i learned last year to remember all the provinces and territories of canada.

  17. Selena Almeida
    November 9, 2010 at 9:25 pm (13 years ago)

    Music!Music!Music… Music is wonderful to listen to, you can use diffrent instruments to play music.I love music class because when my music teacher teaches me new songs it helps with my reading and writing and I have also learned some new words.MUSIC makes me happy!!!

  18. Adi
    November 9, 2010 at 10:09 pm (13 years ago)

    Music is one of the things that helped me learn when I was little. It helped me learn my A, B, C`s. The tune of the A, B, C`s song made it easier for me to remember the alphabet. Whenever I needed help finding the places of letters, I would hum the alphabet song and it and I would get the answer. Music can help you read and write by expanding your vocabulary. I heard new words in many songs. I searched the word in the dictionary and I learn a new word that I can use in writing. If I hadn`t heard that song, then I wouldn`t have thought of searching the word in the dictionary.
    Music helped me a lot, when our music teacher told us to convert sounds that we hear into musical notes. It would be a lot harder if there were no music because then we would have to convert actions. Music is an important subject but it is not given the credit it should be given. Almost every country you go, math and language is given the most credit. I think that music is not as important as math or language but it should be given more credit.

  19. Ahkash
    November 9, 2010 at 10:15 pm (13 years ago)

    Music has helped me learn because I always widhed to be a composer and I got many Ideas of songs ,and music helped me in creativite and not only that music is an art so it is also a way to express my feelings and who I am

  20. maya
    November 10, 2010 at 7:59 am (13 years ago)

    music is a very important part of my life. I really like to listen to music and sing along in the car or at home. We often blast the music in the hockey change rooms before and after games. music really inspires us for sure. however, the question is does it help me with reading or writing. Songs used to help me remember things in lower grades but I don’t really use it as much anymore. I do look up lyrics to songs but I wouldn’t call that helping me with reading. when I do my homework, I like to have music playing in the background. It keeps me in a happy mood. So, perhaps it helps me indirectly with my homework. music is definately very important part of my life.

    by
    maya

  21. Brandon
    November 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm (13 years ago)

    MUSIC IS THE BEST… Music is just as important as any other subject in life. I like listening to and making new music. The A,B,C’s has helped me read and write, by memorizing they A,B,C’s and the way the letters look. Music has changed me as a person. It has made me a happier person. I’m in a band called Volt City (trade mark. If I could I’d post a link) I’ve recorded a CD, performed in the Masonic Lodge in Streetsville, I’m going to perform in the Streetsville Santa Claus parade on November 28 2010 so I’m very successful in music. Music even helps me think, I’m listening to music (Twisted Sister) right now.

Leave a Reply