Music and how it makes us learn to read

 Do you hum the alphabet song when trying to remember if “s” comes before “t”?  Do you remember songs easier than your timetables?

Whatever your experiences with music, music classes, choir,  piano/guitar etc., lessons or just listening to cd’s/mp3’s, we all think it is cool in different ways.

In your life, explain to us your experiences on the impact that music has had on you learning how to read and write. 

Link that my help:

http://treehousetv.com/blogs/read_indoor_fun/archive/2007/08/02/songs-with-actions.aspx

 

17 Comments on Music and how it makes us learn to read

  1. Sameer
    April 15, 2009 at 8:18 am (15 years ago)

    Music has helped me throughout my life seeing what is wrong and what is right, such as when you wanna know what to do at a time you did to your friend. Or a husband who had a fight with her wife the music lyrically telling us what we should do what you really think of her with your heart by that lyrics. Also it helps you for your education. (i.e. Alphabets song, and other nursery rhymes) So that these songs can help you rememerize your alphabets.
    Also it has really inspiration to actually see what the artists are trying to say and you can feel how they have been. Also the lyrics are catchy and you can listen to great things in your past time. Last of lyrics is when you write something in your notebook or anything these lyrics give good vocabulary or whatever it says it gives good examples like this song you just listened. Music is also visualize picture aobut what they do. Last it can tell you what you can choose in your life, either doing bad things like murder, Drugs, and more… Or you can do other things better like helping others and helping economy. Like one song i listend to by Ludacris call: Do the right thing.
    Music helps me this way how does it help you 😛

  2. ali
    April 15, 2009 at 8:22 am (15 years ago)

    In life,we use music to help us read and write. But how?For me, using songs is a great way to remember things in life, and make things relaxing. For instance, when I was young, I used to have my mom sing me a lullaby to go to sleep. Music also can help us in school. Music has associated people in life so much, it is now a subject in school! Kids usually use songs to remember things and to do work. Sometimes teachers put on music to calm the students and to let them feel relaxed when they do their work. For example, the alphabet song helps kid remember where letters go in the alphabet and remember all the letters. Or, the multiplacation song. It helped me understand multiplacation facts and really grasp multiplying numbers. That is how music has helped me in school and to read.

  3. Dante Jakupovski
    April 15, 2009 at 8:24 am (15 years ago)

    Music. It is a lot of things. It’s something to listen to and enjoy. But does it help you concentrate. I say it does. The reason is because as I write this I’m listening to music and it’s really helping me come up with reasons that music can help with you concentrate. For example, the ABC’s song teachs you the alphabet. Which is a very important song to learn. And some songs are about life and love. This song called She Hates Me by Puddle of Mudd sends a message that even if a girl leaves you, you should just get back up and try again.
    Music is a wonderfull thing. It is magic

  4. Dante Jakupovski
    April 15, 2009 at 8:24 am (15 years ago)

    Music. It is a lot of things. It’s something to listen to and enjoy. But does it help you concentrate. I say it does. The reason is because as I write this I’m listening to music and it’s really helping me come up with reasons that music can help with you concentrate. For example, the ABC’s song teachs you the alphabet. Which is a very important song to learn. And some songs are about life and love. This song called She Hates Me by Puddle of Mudd sends a message that even if a girl leaves you, you should just get back up and try again.
    Music is a wonderfull thing. It is magic.

  5. Zoha.R
    April 15, 2009 at 8:25 am (15 years ago)

    Thier are alot of ways music in pacts in reading and writing.Here are some ways it inpacts.Frist of all when ever you make an album you always need to write.Secondly when you make an insterment you always need to READ music notes.Thirdly when some people listen to the abc it makes them remember the alphabets.(And) when you want to practice the times table tyou can also go to you tube and practice by listening to a song.Lastly when you got o choir you have to READ the lyrics of the song to know the ong and memorize.so these are some ways how music inpacts in our writing and reading.

    by:the famous Zoha

  6. Aqsa
    April 15, 2009 at 8:26 am (15 years ago)

    Music. It’s a wonderful thing, but does it teach us reading and writing? Believe it or not, it does! Want proof? Well, when I was little, I was listing to an Urdu song. That Urdu song was nice to listen to, so I played it again. That song helped me learn Urdu, and then after that I kept practicing till I could speak Urdu clearly. Not enough proof? Well, I was listening to a song that rhymed when I was little. It was a VERY annoying song. You know how annoying songs get stuck in your head? Speak of the devil. The song got stuck in my head! Anyway, I could start to rhyme beacuse of that song. That’s probably enough proof for you. I hope you’re now convinced that music helps you read and write ( well, at least SOME music. ) Thank you for reading, and have a great day!

  7. Amber Smith
    April 15, 2009 at 8:31 am (15 years ago)

    Does music have a impact on my reading and writing skills?
    Acually it does!!!Music can be used for everything.From learning the alphabet to trying to memorize the timestables. When you are reading lyrics to a song you are doing exactly that……READING!!! When I was little my teachers use to teach us the alphabet by the song “THE ABC’s”. From this song it was easier for me to remember all 26 of the letters in the alphabet. Music also teaches us new words because most songs have words and when you are listening to music you are listening to a form of writing.Music is a big part of reading and writing so I hope the next time you are listening to music or reading lyrics to a song just remember that music is a part of reading and writing!!!
    Thank-You!!!

  8. Nikita
    April 15, 2009 at 8:31 am (15 years ago)

    nikita here,
    how does music help us learn to read and write?
    Well music helps us in many different ways.
    Niharika said “music helps me because instead of learning the times table in a boring way, I can go on you tube and practice in a funner way”! Well that’s what she thinks, I think that music helps us because it helps us remember things quickly like times tables if you make it in to a song you could remember it faster.
    music really hepls me learn things.
    bye!! 🙂 😉 😀 😛 8)

  9. Esther ☺ ☻
    April 15, 2009 at 8:32 am (15 years ago)

    Songs with actions help most preschoolers learn how to follow directions, they increase their vocabulary, helps them interact with others, and improves their motor control, balance and coordination. Songs like “If Your Happy and u Know it Clap ur Hands” can help follow directions
    Some people sing songs tell u about their life which might help you with yours.
    that is all i can say about music and how it helps learning.
    Esther 🙂 😀 😉 😛 8) 🙂

  10. mohamad
    April 15, 2009 at 8:33 am (15 years ago)

    music is voices that are moveing around the hole world
    even you. music is not just people singing like chris brown and akon. music helps you read and write learn music can help me read gr.8 books or get me an A+ in writing.See music can be used for alot of things last but not least music is all so used for family free time. THANK YOU FOR READING

  11. Vanessa
    April 15, 2009 at 8:34 am (15 years ago)

    From the hokey pokey to the alphabet song we all had experiences with these songs with me I learn by the song call the, alphabet song.
    It helped me by remembering how they sound, what they look like, and saying it out loud.
    I also wrote them down, to when I come to spell somthing like “to” or ‘from” I can look to find the letter that I need. Reading I ahd the most challenging problem because there were I couldn’t say so I had the most trouble in grade 1. After a while I pratice more with my mom and got way better to reading.

    So thats most of my experiences in my past so that’s it

    Bye V out

  12. Niraj
    April 15, 2009 at 8:35 am (15 years ago)

    This is the hardest question I ever had to answer. WHY!! I can remember only one thing that was a song that helped me learn my alphabet .I still use it to remember what comes after any certain letter such as N. Then I would say L M N O. It is a great song and the younger age you learn it the longer you will remember it. Songs are a great way to remember things, but there is a problem if the song is to long or not catchy then you will most likley forget it.In my life I remember in kindergarten we sang the alphabet then at home I would sing it to my mom. It really helps.

  13. megan
    April 15, 2009 at 8:40 am (15 years ago)

    a, b, c, d, e f g these are all letters of the alphabet but what comes after g it is so hard to know what comes next with out humming it. how do I know because I herd the song and that’s the way I learn id much rather sit in class all day and listen to music than do this silly multiplication music makes me learn so many things like multiplication to just simply learning how to count to 10 I love music and it makes learning fun now I love multiplication. Music is all around us it is a great way to learn your alphabet or how to sound out words that’s how music helps us in every day life thanks for listening byeeeee. ; )

  14. Amira
    April 15, 2009 at 8:44 am (15 years ago)

    Abcd….123 come sing the alphabet and numbers with me!
    Do you know these songs i do their the alphabets and how to count your one two three’s.

    songs help me and probably you by memorizing the times table, alphabet and numbers. For example in the dictionary or the thesaurus when your looking for a word you might start humming ABC etc. or even when you are writing a story that is a comedy you can include one of the singers as a character singing their song.

    this is really what i think :Boom! boom i hear the beat I hear the sound its stuck in my head i cant just refuse it its stuck wait it gives me a idea for example in my writing it’s a great idea.

    music also has emotions like us it can have a tune were it is frustrating or even relaxing.

    this is what I don’t think but know about how it helps me.

  15. maddie
    April 15, 2009 at 8:54 am (15 years ago)

    Uhhh…. what’s the letter after Q? A B C D E F……. I think you get the point. I think music effects on everybody’s lives especially in writing for example in my grade 4 class we listened to the punctuation song and the multiplication song and now I know both my timetables and my pucuation. BYE 8 )

  16. Shady
    April 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm (15 years ago)

    Music helps me with reading and writing because when I read a book in my bed at night I like to listen to music at a small volume because it helps me get relaxed when I read.

    Music helps me with my writing because when im writing something while I listen to music I get ideas of what to write and the beat of music helps me concentrate on what im doing.

  17. Ayesha
    April 22, 2009 at 5:10 pm (15 years ago)

    Music helps us to read and write by teaching us new words, and how to rhyme. It affects how you feel, helps you relax, or makes you want to move and dance. You love to listen music, right? Did you know that listening to music can help you learn more about letters and numbers which can help you in math and reading? Cool, right? Music can help us to pay more attention in class and listen more better. Music can affect your emotions to make you either happy, excited, relaxed, hopeful, glad or annoyed, uneasy, distracted, scared, and tired. Another thing is that listening to music can teach you new languages! Also, learning to play an instrument, like the piano, can make you smarter, and get better grades!

Leave a Reply