Describe what you see.

 

A descriptive paragraph explains an image, video, song or anything  with adverbs (words that describe an action; run fast)and adjectives (words that describe a noun; black hair). 

Look at these pictures. 

 Pick one picture and explain in a detailed paragraph or poem words what you see.  Talk us through in detail with adjectives and adverbs what is going on in your image that you chose. 

Don’t tell us which image you chose…as readers, we will try and guess which one you are explaining.

 

19 Comments on Describe what you see.

  1. Theron
    April 23, 2009 at 1:06 pm (15 years ago)

    The running race. There is a boy running fast. He wearing a black sweater.I see he running across the sidewalk. That the race

  2. zoha
    April 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm (15 years ago)

    I see a flower.
    In the hot sun.
    The flower is a sunflower.
    The flower will rise up.
    It will show it’s inner beauty.
    And will stay the same till winter will start.

  3. Sameer
    April 23, 2009 at 2:10 pm (15 years ago)

    (For the 4th picture) Poem:

    There is a man zippping with his motorcycle like a bee.
    The man is going too fast he might hit a tree!
    Everybody hopes the motorcycle racer will be alright.
    Thinking of the possible injuries gives me the fright,
    but it looks like the man was doing a trick.
    While doing his trick, it looks like hes losing his grip! He is performed the most amazing thing.
    All the other competiters must be feeling a sting.
    This man has used to much acceleration he is a rebel.
    He must have gotten a gold medal!

    (poem of what i thought of it!)

  4. nick
    April 23, 2009 at 2:35 pm (15 years ago)

    The gold fish swims quickley.

  5. Niraj
    April 23, 2009 at 3:09 pm (15 years ago)

    “He’s coming closer I think he saw me. I should really start to swim away before that mighty stong shark attacks”. What I see in this picture is a fish looking worried about somthing.He is going lighting fst to his house but he has to stop. There was a shark in the water above. If it swam fast it would stick out for 2 reasons. Number 1 is that there are know other fish around. 2 is that the fish itself was red and the fishes fins and tale was the most brightest green you would ever see. The fish looked very confused on what it should do and will he get home at all? The fish was thinking also could he blend in with the coral since he had so many black spots. Should he take the risk? You can make your own ending from here.

  6. ali
    April 23, 2009 at 3:18 pm (15 years ago)

    Late one dark night, a meadow of blossoming red and yellow flowers emerge to show themselves to the world. At exactly midnight, a small, little blaze of fire begins on one of the flowers. In a matter of mere seconds, the fire starts to pick up a massive, incredible strength which comes to all the other flowers. It goes to destroy and kill the seeds of flowers. What used to lay of a colourful, exciting hill filled with flowers now has a dark feel to it. At 3 o’ clock, the hill has lost it’s colour. The next morning, there is only 1 flower left where 100 once stood.

  7. Esther ★ ☆
    April 23, 2009 at 3:41 pm (15 years ago)

    blue and black in the background,
    orange and green in the foreground,
    he could be a pet like my dog lizz,
    can you guess what the picture is?

    by: Esther 🙂 😉 😀 😛 8) 🙂

  8. Ayesha
    April 23, 2009 at 4:14 pm (15 years ago)

    The magical sun is shining brightly on the pretty sunflower with its colourful rays. The golden sunflower is looking at the beautiful sun and blooming happily. It is a good day outside because of all the shining blue skies. The sunflower stands tall above all the others in the field. The sunflower is growing while the sun shines. Sunlight helps the sunflower to grow better. The sunflower says to the sun joyfully, swaying side to side, “Happy Shining, Sun!”. The sun says to the sunflower “Happy Blooming!” and drifts off into the sky.

  9. Darren
    April 23, 2009 at 5:03 pm (15 years ago)

    the boy is running down the street the flower is blooming iin the sun the goldfish is swimming at the speed of sound the dirt biker is having fun

  10. nikita
    April 23, 2009 at 5:13 pm (15 years ago)

    finally it’s in the lead.

    wwwhhhooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooossshhh!!!!!!!!!!
    so far away!!!go,go,go,go,go,!!so close luckly he escapes.
    “Can’t stop must keep going” he says to him self.finally he gets far enough to slow down, but he can’t his body is controling it’s self. 🙁 He trys to find a hiding spot but can’t spot one. 🙁 What to do now???? “just keep going,just keep going,just keep going.” he says to him self.finally the enemy is gone. 🙂 he finds a hiding place trys to get controll and hides!! 🙂 he stays as quite as possible for a while then he goes back home as quickly as possible adn dosen’t getcought 🙂 it was very risky!!

    which image do you think I am discribing?????
    Nikita 🙂 8) 😉

  11. Cameron McCabe
    April 23, 2009 at 5:25 pm (15 years ago)

    This professional athlete is performing a trick while jumping over 20 helicopters with the propellers spinning at a super speed. The performer is very,very scared,but has done this trick many times. OK,the athlete makes his death defying jump and…HE MAKES IT! The crowd goes wild! YA! (Yelled the announcer). He broke a world record and every one was screaming as loud as a rock concert crowd. Can you guess which picture I am describing?

    THE
    END

  12. Aqsa
    April 23, 2009 at 6:00 pm (15 years ago)

    Day and night, she stands so brightly,
    blowing with the wind so lightly.
    Sun shines down, she’s still standing strong,
    she straitens up, her stem so long.
    Desperately, she thinks “I have to live!
    Anyone have water to give?”
    Sun is shining through the pines,
    as she tries her very best to shine.
    Hours, days, weeks pass by,
    she’s afraid that she might soon die.
    She looks up at the sun at seven,
    Thinking “will I go to heaven?”

    Thanks for listening to my poem!
    By: Aqsa Shoiab Khan Alam

  13. Vanessa
    April 23, 2009 at 6:23 pm (15 years ago)

    Fish, Fish where you going? don’t run, don’t hide, don’t be nervous or be shy. Swim around and have fun well play under the sun. Well rock ‘n’ and roll as the bright colors shine. Blue, red, orange and black we see and hear and wear those colors but now that I see those colors near you, it makes me want to cry. Your small your big but in my heart you are the best of both. Swim It’s a race! u r better then me so far but I will win next race so you watch out for your gills will fall off, when you can’t breath I will save before you die, so bye bye!!!! BUT THEN YOU ARE BACK SO LET’S RUN BEFORE THE SEA TURTLES WILL EAT US AND MAKE U LIKE TO DIE.

    BYE i HOPE YOU LIKED THAT POEM OF THE FISH!
    V OUT

  14. amber
    April 23, 2009 at 6:25 pm (15 years ago)

    I think he sees me
    He wants my money
    I better start to run really fast
    He did this before,I should have known that he won’t let go of the past
    With my dirty blond hair and my black sweater on tight
    I might just be able to get out of his nasty sight
    Soon I will be in my cozy warm home
    With that wonderful thought in mind he won’t be able to touch me not even a bone
    With me running like a rocket
    With my change clinging loudly in my pocket
    I look back for a quick second and realize I lost him
    So just for the fun of it
    I run home with my change still clinging in my little pocket.

    THANK YOU!!!!

  15. Amira
    April 23, 2009 at 6:27 pm (15 years ago)

    poem 2:

    my mind is trapped I’m in a seed i cry for help but I’m deceived.

    put me in the soil give me some water and ill start to show you my beauty,you can leave me alone because I’m different from the others but with a little care you will see my routs start to sprout, and slowly you will see a stem come out, i might look different from the cherry tree the blossoms or tulips but I’m the sun flower beyond the beauty of the stars and the moon.one day i will be grown with my petals held high with the wind blowing a peaceful relaxing solo in the air.than i will let you enjoy my sight of beauty,the cherry tree ,tulips and blossoms are sorry but no need because we are one a circle of life nature and earth, all special in our own way.I’m a sun flower happily in my patch.

    this is my poem about that one sunflower in the second picture all alone.

    bye:}

  16. Moksha
    April 23, 2009 at 6:50 pm (15 years ago)

    The flower is growing. The flower got it’s soil, water and most of all the sun.It shows all of us it’s beauty. it’s says that you can keep from the rest but you can’t leave me alone because I am a sunflower and I need everything to support me to rise and show the world beauty so i can be there until winter.
    \
    bye!!)

  17. Maddie
    April 23, 2009 at 7:21 pm (15 years ago)

    He’s doing an awesome stunt called Superman
    He is incredibly high
    And then a loud gasp from an anxious fan
    As he fiercly kicks his powerful legs
    Into the clear blue sky
    The champion rider in his red and white gear
    Tightens his grip on the bar
    He has no time to think about fear
    That’s why he’s a famous motocross star

    by Maddie

  18. Niharika
    April 24, 2009 at 5:20 am (15 years ago)

    The picture of the guy running looks like he is just about to fly.
    The picture of the sunflower looks like the flower looking at the sun.
    The fish looks like a flower from my eyes!
    And the last picture looks like a man almost about to hit a tree!
    THANK YOU!

  19. Dante Jakupovski
    April 24, 2009 at 1:49 pm (15 years ago)

    I see a flower.
    Resting in the ground.
    Looking at the sun.
    It’s a sunflower.
    How beautiful it is.
    But soon the beauty will go.
    When the winter will come.

Leave a Reply